12 Months A Volunteer: January

Image

Where: Landover, Maryland

Purpose: Eliminating Hungry amongst low-income families

Date: January 18th, 2014

Time: 8:30AM – 12:30 PM

For 2014 I decided that I wanted to volunteer on a monthly basis rather than every three months. In January, I volunteered with the Capital Area Food Bank by helping them set up and hand out groceries in their Landover, MD Mobile Market. It was fascinating to see how many needy families came out to get food despite the bitter 32 degree weather.

Image

I believe that the organization was extremely organized and knowledgable which made the experience very pleasant. From signing up for opportunities online (which I love) to arriving and dealing with experienced market managers, I thoroughly enjoyed working with Capital Area Food Bank and I am looking forward to helping them in the future.

Leave a Reply

